Reviews

The elkhorn lodge was the perfect place to retire after a long night on the road! One of the best places I’ve stayed at thus far in the gorgeous mountains of New Mexico! The beds are beyond comfortable, warm, the cabin is clean, and it is along the Rio Chama river where you can enjoy a bonfire at your pleasure. I highly recommend this lodge if you are passing through town.   March 2017

I have been staying at Elkhorn Lodge since July 2014. Linda and Albert had recently assumed ownership and management May 2014. Every time I visit I am amazed at the renovations and improvements. During my most recent stay I was in a remodeled room with a new king bed. Very comfortable and immaculately clean. It is a lovely property on the Chama River complete with wildlife and area bird species. Beautiful Spruce and old Cottonwood trees line the property. Emily and Kenny are doing a great job of managing – close attention to detail and great customer service. Great place for a quiet getaway or family reunion or wedding any season.  February 2017

My husband and I got our car stuck on State Road 112. The people at Elkhorn Lodge were so good to us!! We missed our flight and needed a place to stay. This Lodge was the perfect place to calm down and refocus!! Thank you so much for the comfortable bed, clean room and kind faces!! You were all wonderful!!  February 2017

Dear Hosts,

Thank you for creating a homey environment during the final leg of our family adventure. We will have to come back in the summer and explore all you have to offer. It is so beautiful we just weren’t prepared for the amount of snow you had on the ground so we missed out on walking behind your cabins. Loved your Christmas lights too

Thanks again,

The Romero family March 2017

“Love the charm of the Elkhorn Lodge”
4 of 5 stars May 2016
While in the Chama Valley we stayed at the Elkhorn. in a charming cabin. It probably is not what many young people are looking for but we really enjoyed the cabin and it’s lovely style. The bed was very comfortable and the cabin was clean and well kept. the manager was a very nice lady.

“loved it !”
5 of 5 stars,  June 2016
we loved this place, real nice folks ,elk deer good views, laid back like a beach attitude in the sky. breakfast was like mamas, very satisfied will go there again. most relaxing part of our vacation, if i could ever get off work.

 

“Fantastic time”Jun3 10,2016
5 of 5 stars
Great place to stay in a small rustic cabin. We originally found this place thru Groupon. Would stay there again. We stayed in Cabin #40 it has 2 double beds, full bath and kitchen. There is also a motel on the property. Grounds back up to the Chama River, which was flowing big time. Weather was wonderful, specially when we spoke with a neighbor at home who told us it was 112 there.

 

September 7, 2015

Linda, Albert, Emily & Kenny, Thank you for hosting our Model T group at the Elkhorn. We enjoyed our stay & the location was perfect for our cars! The Pavilion worked very well for our reception & dinner the next night as well. regards, Marilyn & Paul Duncan

“Will be back for sure!”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came up for the weekend, fished, hiked, saw wildlife, sun, rain and snow. It was an amazing weekend, great owners and a homey cozy feel. River is amazing and so much more to explore If we had more time. Thank you Linda and Em.

Great New Owners! Fabulous Stay”
5 of 5 starsReviewed March 1, 2015

We had an amazing weekend in Chama and definitely recommend the Cabins atElkhorn Lodge for a memorable stay. Good location! Scenic! Plenty of hot water. Well equiped kitchen. The owners are very kind & the blueberry muffins at breakfast were delicious… These guys have a great place & do a wonderful job! Very friendly and inviting

Great place awesome service”
5 of 5 starsReviewed February 6, 2015

Found a great deal on this place on Groupon. It was great the cabin was nice and cozy and its a nice get away spot. They have a great river located right behind the cabins just overall a great place to take the family.

  • Stayed February 2015
“Elk Horn Lodge is Great!”
5 of 5 starsReviewed January 3, 2015

I have been staying at the Elk Horn Lodge for business off and on the past few months. Elk Horn Lodge is quiet, clean, well-priced, and the owners are on site and great people. In the mornings I like to have a cup of coffee down by the Chama River, which is right behind the cabins. In the evenings you can see all kinds of wildlife as the sun sets. The cabins have everything you need for a 1 night stay or even several months. Internet was really fast too, which was great for work!

Whether you are staying for work or play, I would recommend the Elk Horn Lodge. From what I understand they have new ownership as of Spring 2014. The new owners have really turned it into a great facility.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
  • Stella B.
  • Albuquerque, NM

6/13/2014

We had a great stay.  Our cabin was really cute and comfortable, the location right on the river is awesome, and it’s beautiful country.  We met the new owners, and they were really nice and friendly.  They’ve obviously been working hard, and it shows.  They really seemed to care about our comfort.  We will definitely be back!

5 of 5 starsReviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 2 nights and slept wonderfully with open windows falling asleep to gentle rain and feeling the cool, fresh mountain breeze. Awoke to beautiful songs of birds and enjoyed walking lodge property as well as Elkhorn’s path along Rio Chama and observing birds and wildlife. New owners are welcoming, friendly and attentive. They have made a number of improvements to the property with more scheduled. Located very conveniently to the village and train station. Restaurant located next to lodge is convenient and delicious.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo

We just stayed there with our 6 and 8 yr. old Grandkids . We were in a cabin w/2 queen beds and a little kitchenette and full bath . The new owners are very welcoming and working very hard on the repairs needed . The property is right on the Rio Chama w/great fishing .
There’s a big fire pit for preparing s’mores and telling scary stories.
There is plenty of wildlife and tons
of hummingbirds to view. Don’t forget the train ride either. We all had a great time!

Stayed July 2014
5 of 5 starsReviewed June 22, 2014

My family and I stayed in a cabin for three day’s. The cabin was rustic and very charming. The Chama river is right there! If you like to catch fish. This is the place for you! My family and I caught total of 17 fish in three days. And used the charcoal grill provided to cook them up fresh. It is obvious the new owners care about there guest, and our fixing up the place. Can’t wait to stay there again and go fishing! Happy guest.. Mark.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family

Comments are closed.