Reviews

Excellent welcome. We’ve loved the situation, the charm of the room. Quiet and charming.

Expedia September 2017

Excellent for Couples or Family Getaway

Posted Sep 6, 2017

This was exactly what we hoped it would be–a nice long weekend getaway in a quiet setting. We were in a lodge room (as opposed to a cabin) and found it to be quite cozy and a very good value for Labor Day weekend. The Chama River runs right through the property. Other than to visit the town, we did not leave the property all weekend, and that was absolutely fine. The grounds and rooms are well maintained. The staff are friendly, extremely helpful, and were available to fulfill our every need (help us with fire wood, etc.). There’s not much downside here. It’s not for those looking for a five-star all-services-rendered mountain lodge. Sheets are changed only if you stay more than five days. This is a place that lets you be and is an ideal environment to enjoy the peace and quiet of northern NM with family, friends, and your dog if you bring him or her ($15 upcharge if bringing a dog–quite reasonable).

Expedia September 2017

  • A pleasant night’s stay.
  • Quiet; property is beside the stream and has a picnic and bonfire area on the shore. Playground area for children (the stream is not deep). Rustic in appearance but equipped with the usual coffee machine, etc. Dining and fuel within a mile.

Booking.com September 2017

  • Western, homey ambiance was perfect for our trip to Chama to ride the train.
  • Almost vintage, an oasis in Chama

August 2017 Booking.com

We recently spent two nights at the Elkhorn and we were very pleased! Our cabin was charming, clean and had everything we needed for a quiet weekend. The king size bed was SO comfortable! We loved having the kitchen to make breakfast and the chairs on the front porch were a delightful place to enjoy coffee in the morning or a glass of wine in the evening. The rules say quiet time begins at 10pm and they take that seriously! It was very quiet. Other reviews mentioned limited tv channels which is true but tv is not what we came for, we have that at home. We came to relax and get away from daily life and this place provides that. The river behind the cabins is a beautiful spot to fish or to just sit. We will definitely return!!

September 8, 2017  Trip Advisor

We stayed at the Elkhorn Lodge while exploring the Ghost Ranch/Georgia O’Keefe highlights in the area. We stayed in a free standing cabin near the main office. My husband and I (we are 72 and 69) commented that we felt nostalgic staying at the Elkhorn as both of us had traveled in Colorado with our parents and frequently stayed in mountain cabins; who knows, maybe even at this very place! The cabin was well equipped for our one night stay. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of room for the two of us, even a large bathroom with a jacuzzi tub (although we don’t “do” jacuzzis no matter where we stay.) We enjoyed the privacy, and some quiet time sitting on the front porch. We checked out the next morning and the next day I discovered I was missing my camera battery charger, and thought I may have left it in the cabin. I called the office and they said they would look in the cabin for it. When they did not find it, they offered to let me come and look as well since we were coming back through the area and the cabin was not occupied yet. I appreciated that they were so helpful and accommodating.

August 2017 Trip Advisor

Quaint place to stay in Chama. Our group took four rooms side by side and enjoyed the porch that ran across the front with chairs. The kids enjoyed the river that ran behind the lodge. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

August 2017 Trip Advisor

Two of my friends and I rented the 2 bedroom trailer at the Elkhorn Lodge and LOVED it! The porch has an amazing view and comfortable chairs for happy hour and into the night. The whole place was sparkling clean and the linens were fresh and crisp. Lots of towels were available for us all. The kitchen was complete with everything you’d need, and we took advantage of it all. Emily is an amazing host and was attentive to our needs. The river is just a few steps from the door, and there are even 2 chairs right there if you want to sit and watch the water rush by. The night sky is gorgeous and we got great views of the moon and Jupiter.

July 2017  Trip Advisor

My cycling group and I stayed in Chama, NM at the Elkhorn Lodge on June 5, 2017. The location of the lodge at the first border of the Chama area is a big plus for a cyclist as the ride over from Espanola is a difficult one. The rooms were clean and well kept, as the property has seen several seasons. The porches facilitate a much friendlier interaction with other travelers than many other hotel offerings and are something we really enjoyed. The staff was beyond polite as they offered us assistance in obtaining repairs to one of our bikes and helped us locate alternate transportation when it was desperately needed. I would highly recommend this location to anyone needing accommodations in the Chama, NM area.

June 2017 Trip Advisor

The elkhorn lodge was the perfect place to retire after a long night on the road! One of the best places I’ve stayed at thus far in the gorgeous mountains of New Mexico! The beds are beyond comfortable, warm, the cabin is clean, and it is along the Rio Chama river where you can enjoy a bonfire at your pleasure. I highly recommend this lodge if you are passing through town.

March 2017

I have been staying at Elkhorn Lodge since July 2014. Linda and Albert had recently assumed ownership and management May 2014. Every time I visit I am amazed at the renovations and improvements. During my most recent stay I was in a remodeled room with a new king bed. Very comfortable and immaculately clean. It is a lovely property on the Chama River complete with wildlife and area bird species. Beautiful Spruce and old Cottonwood trees line the property. Emily and Kenny are doing a great job of managing – close attention to detail and great customer service. Great place for a quiet getaway or family reunion or wedding any season.  February 2017

My husband and I got our car stuck on State Road 112. The people at Elkhorn Lodge were so good to us!! We missed our flight and needed a place to stay. This Lodge was the perfect place to calm down and refocus!! Thank you so much for the comfortable bed, clean room and kind faces!! You were all wonderful!!  February 2017

Dear Hosts,

Thank you for creating a homey environment during the final leg of our family adventure. We will have to come back in the summer and explore all you have to offer. It is so beautiful we just weren’t prepared for the amount of snow you had on the ground so we missed out on walking behind your cabins. Loved your Christmas lights too

Thanks again,

The Romero family March 2017

“Love the charm of the Elkhorn Lodge”
4 of 5 stars May 2016
While in the Chama Valley we stayed at the Elkhorn. in a charming cabin. It probably is not what many young people are looking for but we really enjoyed the cabin and it’s lovely style. The bed was very comfortable and the cabin was clean and well kept. the manager was a very nice lady.

“loved it !”
5 of 5 stars,  June 2016
we loved this place, real nice folks ,elk deer good views, laid back like a beach attitude in the sky. breakfast was like mamas, very satisfied will go there again. most relaxing part of our vacation, if i could ever get off work.

 

“Fantastic time”Jun3 10,2016
5 of 5 stars
Great place to stay in a small rustic cabin. We originally found this place thru Groupon. Would stay there again. We stayed in Cabin #40 it has 2 double beds, full bath and kitchen. There is also a motel on the property. Grounds back up to the Chama River, which was flowing big time. Weather was wonderful, specially when we spoke with a neighbor at home who told us it was 112 there.

September 7, 2015

Found a great deal on this place on Groupon. It was great the cabin was nice and cozy and its a nice get away spot. They have a great river located right behind the cabins just overall a great place to take the family.

  • Stayed February 2015
“Elk Horn Lodge is Great!”
5 of 5 starsReviewed January 3, 2015

I have been staying at the Elk Horn Lodge for business off and on the past few months. Elk Horn Lodge is quiet, clean, well-priced, and the owners are on site and great people. In the mornings I like to have a cup of coffee down by the Chama River, which is right behind the cabins. In the evenings you can see all kinds of wildlife as the sun sets. The cabins have everything you need for a 1 night stay or even several months. Internet was really fast too, which was great for work!

Whether you are staying for work or play, I would recommend the Elk Horn Lodge. From what I understand they have new ownership as of Spring 2014. The new owners have really turned it into a great facility.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
  • Stella B.
  • Albuquerque, NM

6/13/2014

We had a great stay.  Our cabin was really cute and comfortable, the location right on the river is awesome, and it’s beautiful country.  We met the new owners, and they were really nice and friendly.  They’ve obviously been working hard, and it shows.  They really seemed to care about our comfort.  We will definitely be back!

5 of 5 starsReviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 2 nights and slept wonderfully with open windows falling asleep to gentle rain and feeling the cool, fresh mountain breeze. Awoke to beautiful songs of birds and enjoyed walking lodge property as well as Elkhorn’s path along Rio Chama and observing birds and wildlife. New owners are welcoming, friendly and attentive. They have made a number of improvements to the property with more scheduled. Located very conveniently to the village and train station. Restaurant located next to lodge is convenient and delicious.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo

We just stayed there with our 6 and 8 yr. old Grandkids . We were in a cabin w/2 queen beds and a little kitchenette and full bath . The new owners are very welcoming and working very hard on the repairs needed . The property is right on the Rio Chama w/great fishing .
There’s a big fire pit for preparing s’mores and telling scary stories.
There is plenty of wildlife and tons
of hummingbirds to view. Don’t forget the train ride either. We all had a great time!

Stayed July 2014
5 of 5 starsReviewed June 22, 2014

My family and I stayed in a cabin for three day’s. The cabin was rustic and very charming. The Chama river is right there! If you like to catch fish. This is the place for you! My family and I caught total of 17 fish in three days. And used the charcoal grill provided to cook them up fresh. It is obvious the new owners care about there guest, and our fixing up the place. Can’t wait to stay there again and go fishing! Happy guest.. Mark.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
CoE2017_WidgetAsset-14348-2

Comments are closed.